Getting fit with kids in tow.

Now that I’m done having kids, I seriously want to get into shape.

I'm not happy with this.

I’m not happy with this.

I am a full time Stay-At-Home-Mom. My kids go where I go, so I need to include one, if not both of my kids into my workout schedule.

Fortunately our eldest goes to preschool three times a week for a few hours, but that still leaves me with our 1 year old to hang out with. He’s started to drop the morning nap, so now I can take him with me for workouts.

Now I just need to find something that will allow me to workout while he’s with me.

I know the rec centre has child minding, so that is an option. There are also some studios that offer it as well. I tried a facility that has an area for the wee ones to hang out in by themselves, but Captain Clingy wanted nothing to do with that.

I’m thinking that I need to pick up a jogging stroller. I can take the wee man along with me, he doesn’t weigh too much yet and running is FREE. On the down side, I’ll have the weather to contend with. Now that Old Man Winter is approaching, we’ll have to deal with the cold, rain, ice and possibly snow. Could get treacherous. I wonder if there are indoor tracks to go to?

My new jogging partner.

My new jogging partner.

I suppose I could also pick up a fitness DVD and do workouts at home, but our space is the size of a closet and I think that if I fire up the Jillian Michael’s Kickboxing DVD that’s been collecting dust on the shelf, I’ll either kick my son clear across the room or end up with my foot firmly planted in the TV. Maybe I’ll pick up these 10 Minute Solution DVD’s that I just came across. There’s bound to be something in there that’ll work for me.

10 Minute Solution

How do you stay fit whilst caring for your young ones?

One thought on “Getting fit with kids in tow.

  1. That’s definitely a challenge. I have a 15 month old and a 3 month old boys. The 15 month old is very active – he walks 1km/day on average 🙂 We go out every day and we walk and walk as much as possible. He loves it and it gives me an opportunity to exercise too. Rain or shine we are outside. Sometimes I choose a route to include some nice hills which is really good for cardio.

    Like

Leave a Reply

