School fundraising.

We’ve recently been given some chocolate bars to sell to raise funds for our daughter’s preschool.

Who can say "No!" to a kid?

Who can say “No!” to a kid?

I remember having to sell chocolate bars when I was a kid too. My Mum would take them in to work and they’d all be sold in no time. Now, for my kids, I am a Stay-At-Home-Mom, so I have no co-workers to sell them to and my husband works from home, so he also has no one to dump them on. With Halloween just leaving us in it’s wake, family and friends have no interest in obtaining more chocolate, and being $3/piece, who in their right mind would buy one?
I think it’s time for a change in what “they” want kids to sell to raise funds for something.

Different Ideas for Fundraising

Different Ideas for Fundraising

For one, people are cheap, so make it affordable. Secondly, stop with the junk food! Times have changed and we are more mindful of what we put in our kids bodies as well as ourselves. And they’ve got another thing coming if I’m going to buy chocolate, just to turf it in the bin. I think schools should really do a better job at promoting healthy eating when conducting fundraisers. Have you heard of DASH? Check out their guide for Healthy Fundraising for Schools. It’s up to us as parents to speak up about what is acceptable when it comes to our kids.

DASH

DASH

I understand that schools, organizations, and groups fundraise to help cover their costs, but make it worth the purchaser ‘s dollar.

One thought on “School fundraising.

  1. Pingback: Fundraising with junk food. It’s time for a change. #YMCCommunity | Raincity Parent

Leave a Reply

