Christmas is for the kids…right? #YMCCommunity

For the past few years, my husband and I haven’t exchanged gifts with each other for Christmas.

We buy gifts for our kids, our nieces, my cousin’s kids and our close family friends.

Christmas is for the kids, right?

Christmas is for the kids, right?

It’s not that we don’t want to buy for each other, it’s just that the “Needs” list outweighs the “Wants” list.

If I earned a salary being a Stay-At-Home-Mom, it would be a different story.

Honestly, instead of a gift that will either get used up, worn out, or set aside, I would rather save the money that would be spent, on something more meaningful. A trip together as a family, put it into the “New House” fund or making a purchase that the whole family will benefit from.

Saving up for something important.

Saving up for something important.

Sure, it’s nice to get a little something under the tree, but this works for us…so far.

2 thoughts on “Christmas is for the kids…right? #YMCCommunity

  1. I TOTALLY get this! We love buying stuff for the kids and others, but whenever we talk about ourselves we really don’t need anything. I’m thinking I’d rather take a family vacation every few years 🙂

    Like

  2. Same at our house – the whole forced gift giving is a turnoff – we give each other more time together instead of madly shopping for items others often don’t care much for anyways. So I know the perfect gift to give my husband for holidays and something I know he REALLY wants – NOTHING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

