“Cleaner” cleaning with #Norwex. {Review & Giveaway} #YMCCommunity

Being a SAHM, I am ALWAYS cleaning up messes. From the kids spilling everything EVERYWHERE, handprints all over the mirrored doors and windows, cooking spills and splatters, dishes, piles of endless laundry, and the dreaded…BATHROOM (dun dun dunnnn).

I grew up with cleaners like Fantastik, Windex, Tilex, Toilet Duck, Lysol and Comet. Laundry was done with powdered soap like Ivory Snow, Tide or Sunlight, and dishes were scrubbed with Palmolive or Sunlight. Now there are countless brands that claim that they work better than each other.

Cleaners

Since becoming parents, my husband and I decided that we wanted a “cleaner” cleaning environment for our home. A lot of common household cleaning products have cancer-causing ingredients, and with family members and friends who have had and are currently suffering from Cancer, we wanted to do our best at avoiding adding poisons to our bodies. We didn’t want our kidlets to be exposed to the “take your breath away” fumes that so many cleaners emit and we didn’t want to have these chemicals come in contact with our own skin, so we chose to use more “natural” products. We also wanted to reduce the chemicals that we were contributing to the environment. When choosing cleaners, we tend to go for the more “green” types, but they still had bleachy fumes and they really didn’t work that great. I was still using a lot of elbow grease to get the soap scum off the inside of the tub. Eventually, I think I’d end up with one HUGE arm like the guy in “Lady In the Water” by M. Night Shyamalan. I even switched to using the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. Now, this little sponge-like scrubber was great! Again, a lot of elbow grease was used, but I didn’t need to use cleaners with it. Unfortunately, it left bits and pieces all over the place like a loose mouse in the house. Who wants to clean up again after they’ve already cleaned? And if my toddler found the bits first, then we’d be in for a surprise then next diaper change.

I had heard about Norwex through the Mommy Groups in my community and on Facebook and thought, this could be exactly what I’m looking for.

Norwex

A little bit about Norwex:

We realized early on that household pollutants negatively impact our health and our environment. Most of the chemicals in cleaning and personal care products that people are exposed to every day have never been assessed for their impact on human health. Indoor air pollution is one of the top five highest ranking environmental health problems in America with chemical levels up to 70 times higher than outside. Research and information on the health effects of manufactured chemicals has not kept pace with their development and use.

  • In the last 50 years, the global production and use of manufactured chemicals has increased substantially. More than 80,000 new chemicals have been created.
  • Indoor air pollution is one of the top five highest-ranking environmental health problems in America.
  • Evidence shows homes have chemical levels up to 70 times higher than outside.
  • Most of the chemicals that people are exposed to every day have never been assessed for their impact on human health.
  • Parabens utilized in personal care for decades have been shown to have potential harmful effects.

What we do know is the harm chemicals have on humans is extensive. Most concerning are the growing links to chemicals that surround us in everyday life. They are linked to serious diseases such as birth defects, cancer and psychological abnormalities. Many today believe the extensive use of chemicals indoors contributes to many of our ‘modern’ diseases such as allergies and asthma.

Our mission at Norwex is to improve quality of life by radically reducing the use of chemicals in personal care and cleaning. In addition, the Norwex products make cleaning faster and more cost effective than traditional cleaning products.

I recently obtained several Norwex products to test out and I was actually gobsmacked at the awesomeness that these little beauties provide.

If I could give one word to the Envirocloth, it would be, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

This cloth cleaned my stovetop, my oil splattered cabinets, my microwave (inside and out, including the greasy vents for the hood fan), my 1970’s popcorn maker, and the top of our stacking washer/ dryer. I had to stop there because my kids were wondering where I was as I kept finding more things that I wanted to try it on. AND it is antibacterial!!! They have a silver agent woven into the fibres making it 99.9% antibacterial.

The Polishing cloth easily wiped away the awesome hand and face prints that don my mirrored closet doors and windows. All it required was some water and a good wipe and voila, shiny and streak-free.

The Baby cloth…I used this as a make-up remover cloth. Now, if you’ve ever hung out with me , you know that I can’t leave the house without “putting my face on”. This includes foundation, eyeliner and mascara. All awesome to remove without a little help. No match for the Baby cloth. No scrubbing, just wet the cloth, hold it on your eyes for a few seconds, then wipe away. Clean as a whistle.

The Odor Eliminator is by far my favourite. This splendiferous spray, tamed the most defiant beast known to man. The morning constitutional. A couple of spritzes and the washroom was once again safe to enter so I could put my face on.

The Laundry Detergent, left our clothes, bedding and towels smelling and feeling fresh without the use of fragrance and the awesome part, we only needed to use a tablespoon. And if you have a front loading washer, you only need a teaspoon!

The Dishwashing Liquid was a little less impressive for me. I found that I needed to use more than the current brand that I use, to get the greasy dishes clean. It did work great on the plastics, which I seem to have trouble with with my nemesis the dishwasher.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Norwex products that I test-drove. I look forward to trying more products out and seeing how they will replace my current “cleaning occupants”.

A friend provided me with a sample of the Sportzyme that I immediately handed off to my husband to spray down his hockey gear. If you have someone in your family that has hockey gear, you know that it smells like a combination of BO and a fish aquarium. The Sportzyme knocked out that stank and now the gear may reside in our home rather than the storage locker.

If you’d like to find out more about Norwex, please click here to find a consultant near you.

Tanya Davis  Norwex Independent Sales Consultant has provided a sample package to giveaway to one lucky reader, valued at $47. Please click on the Rafflecopter link below to enter. Contest runs from February 17-23, 2014.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on ““Cleaner” cleaning with #Norwex. {Review & Giveaway} #YMCCommunity

Leave a Reply

