Grocery shopping with small children in tow. #YMCCommunity

I’ve never minded going grocery shopping.

I enjoy cruising the aisles, checking out new and different types of foods to try out. And if you go to some of the bigger grocery stores, there’s more than just food to get you excited!

20140310-231351.jpg
There are toys, make-up, baby stuff, housewares, clothing, the list goes on. I prefer the convenience of this kind of shopping…especially when you have your kids with you.

On our last visit, we went after swim lessons, when the kids are starving and it’s nearing nap time.

I had a smallish list, but of course, as we’re racing through the store, dinner ideas are popping into my head and extra items are grabbed. Probably not the best idea to have when the weelets are getting antsy and hungrier by the minute.

Soon, the little Dude is reaching nuclear meltdown range and the diaper bag with snacks, is sitting safely in the van. He’d already destroyed the shopping list (which is now making our shopping trip even longer because now I have to decipher what it says through the drooly, chewed paper and running ink) and thrown my keys and his soother across the store SEVERAL times.

My "once was" grocery list.

My “once was” grocery list.

I gave him assorted items from the shopping cart to keep him distracted, but this didn’t work for long. He even gnawed through the bag of Babybel cheese!

Was there a mouse in that bag?

Was there a mouse in that bag?

Normally I would NEVER open an item that I’ve put in the shopping cart, before I pay for it, but wee man needed something to eat, stat! I gave him a fruit and veggie pouch and that bought me a few more minutes while we went through the checkout.

20140310-213837.jpg

GET ME OUT OF THIS JAIL!

Then as we’re putting the groceries on the conveyor belt, my daughter advised me that she needs to go potty “VERY BADLY MOM!”, and she’s holding her backside. She did have a bit-o-the-runs in the morning before swimming, so I’m thinking that she hasn’t quite finished what she had started before we went swimming.

Mom, I need to go potty!

Mom, I need to go potty!

Perfect, all I need now is a screaming and kicking toddler and a 4 year old with poopy pants, drawing attention to us in the grocery store.

Fortunately our cashier overhead our predicament, and blazed through ringing in our lot, so that we could dash to the loo post haste.

We made it!

No accidents, no tantrum, now just to get home before something else happens to make it even more of a stellar day.

Do you have a funny or not-so-funny story about shopping with your kids?

Leave a Reply

