Group nursing rooms in public places. #YMCCommunity

Have you ever been at the mall and gone to the “Parent Room” to nurse your baby, only to find that it’s occupied?

OCCUPIED!

OCCUPIED!

Ugh!

You’re boobs are about to explode and baby is wailing away wanting to eat “RIGHT NOW!”

But you wait patiently because if you were the Mom in the room, feeding or changing your baby, you wouldn’t want someone banging on the door telling you to hurry up. Well…hopefully you are kind enough to wait patiently, but we all know that it’s a stressful situation and you just want to get it started.

Wouldn’t it be great if there was a “group” Nursing Room available in public places like Shopping Centres, Airports, Stadiums, Parks, etc?

There are a few places in the world that do cater to the breast feeding mama’s of the world, but I’d love to see more support for these lovely ladies.

Baby Care Centre at Singapore’s Changi Airport Terminal 1

Baby Care Centre at Singapore’s Changi Airport Terminal 1

Burlington International Airport even has Mamava’s Lactation Station, where you can privately nurse your baby or pump if needed.

Mamava Nursing Station

Mamava Nursing Station

Mamava station inside.

Mamava Nursing Station inside.

Even if they set up a large room with several chairs, change tables and outlets so the Mommy’s could get down to business in a comfortable environment.

I stumbled across the  MimmaMà Breastfeeding Armchair while I was looking around for images and info for this post.

MimmaMa Breastfeeding Chair

MimmaMa Breastfeeding Chair

These chairs can be mounted on a base so that there are several in a row.

Reception style.

Reception style.

mimmamaacurva
This would be a great idea for businesses to set up in a Nursing Room. They could accommodate several Moms at one time and potentially draw more business to them because  they would be showing their support of breast feeding mothers.
I remember when I was breast feeding, I just wanted somewhere to sit down, comfortably, privately (well at least out of the eye of others who weren’t doing the same job that I was doing), and because I was also pumping, it would have been awesome to, once we were done feeding, pump the rest for later as to not disrupt the schedule that I’d set up with my body. And if there were other Moms around me doing the same thing, I think there would have been more of a sense of support within the room.
A girlfriend of mine is currently living in the U.K. and she shares daily, the looks of disgust that she gets because she’s nursing her baby in public.
The look.

The look.

 Don’t get me wrong, I was comfortable breast feeding in public. I used a nursing cover, but found that it was so annoying when my babies move about and flailed their arms and in the summer, it got very hot under the cover. This idea is for the Mom who would rather have a little sanctuary when she wants to feed her baby.

When I was a first time Mom, I was shy about nursing in public, but when baby #2 came along, it wasn’t such a big deal anymore. It makes me think of this great diaper ad.

One thought on “Group nursing rooms in public places. #YMCCommunity

  1. Brentwood Mall has a good parents room with space for two to breastfeed and a little area for older kids. Coquitlam Centre has a newer parents’ room that can seat a couple of people (I can’t remember exactly how many. This is the one closer to the Bay not the Food Court.

    Like

Leave a Reply

