At home hair colour…EPIC FAIL! #YMCCommunity

With Spring arriving and just a few months until Summer, I decided that I wanted to lighten up my locks for a fresh new look.

I have coloured my hair at home for years, so I know it like the back of my hand. I was a blonde for a good portion of my life and I think that I managed to pull it off quite nicely.

At home hair colour

 

Before I got married, I decided to try out a darker shade of me, by going dark brunette and have remained that way for several years now.

A couple kids down and I’m pretty sure the make up of my hair has changed. There is definitely some scientific reasons to why my hair is not as fun to deal with as it used to be. I blame age and hormones.

I picked up a couple boxes of my chosen shade, which really wasn’t THAT far off from my current hair colour, so I figured that I was pretty safe in that nothing too dramatic would occur.

After the kids had been tucked into bed and been asleep for at least half an hour, I threw on my “hair colouring duds” and plopped myself down in front of our full length mirror to modify my mane.

There’s a reason they tell you to do a strand test before you do an all over colour change. Boy did I find out the hard way!

25 minutes later, I hopped into the shower, rinsed out the colour and conditioned with the conditioner provided. I wrapped my hair in a towel and proceed to carry on with the rest of my evening before I hit the hay.

At bedtime, I unwrapped my hair, brushed the tangles out and had a quick glance in the mirror at my new colour.

Too brassy

ERMAGERD! It’s turned from a medium brown to a freakish pinky-orange! Yikes, not what I had intended at all. There was nothing I could do about it now, and thank goodness it was Spring Break, the weather has kept us indoors all week and our swimming lessons weren’t starting for another week.

The next morning, I called the Help Line from the side of the hair colour box and spoke to a very nice lady who was doing a fabulous job reading from the manual that was sitting in front of her. Her questions and responses were very scripted and her monotone was not very reassuring. She suggested an alternative colour for me to try to tone down my spastic hair colour, but I wasn’t feeling very trusting at this point. She even said that they would send me out a voucher to “more than cover” the costs incurred attempting my “fresh, new look”, but I wasn’t planning on waiting out the 2-3 weeks for this voucher to arrive and for me to get back my more appropriate hair colour. I promptly went to Walmart  the “frugalista’s hair salon”, the next morning and picked up a couple boxes of a much darker shade to cover up my poor attempt at a Spring Makeover. It did darken and tone down the disaster, but this is temporary. I will wait for my vouchers, because I’m a cheapskate patient, let my hair rest from the stress and try again at a darker colour.

Lesson learned…when you reach a certain age, your body has gone through childbirth and you’re hormones are changing (I also had my period, so I’m sure that had something to do with the problem, according to the Old Wive’s Tale), it’s probably an awesome idea to go to a salon and have a professional do it. You will spend more money, but you will definitely end up with a better result and have a more relaxing experience while you get in a little pampering.

This is the colour and style I'd like to have :)

This is the colour and style I’d like to have 🙂

Have you have a bad hair experience? What was your result? How did you fix it?

 

2 thoughts on “At home hair colour…EPIC FAIL! #YMCCommunity

  1. Wow I didn’t know that about childbirth and hormones and stuff – I haven’t dyed my hair since before kiddos. I did have a friend in college who swore she was a natural blonde and tried to dye her hair brown one day – of course she was really a bottle blond and it went a strange shade of purple! She had to fess up 🙂

    I’m here from the UBP by the way!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Salon Hair Coloring vs. Boxed Hair Coloring

Leave a Reply

