Bring the sexy back by flaunting your inner fireman. #RoomToMoveDanceAndFitness #YMCCommunity

After becoming a Mom over four years ago, my wardrobe has gone from boring, to plain old frumpy.

My world revolves around my kids and my priorities have changed in respect to my shopping. I now buy groceries or clothing for my ever-growing kids, but I seldom get anything for myself.

My “Mom Uniform” consists of yoga pants, a camisole, a t-shirt, a hoodie and my Bobs or a pair of flip flops, depending on the weather.

20140419-151620.jpg

Definitely not a look of sexiness.

For the past few months, I have been exercising religiously in preparation for my 20 year high school reunion. I’m noticing some great results, and am actually feeling a lot better about myself and finding that my clothes are looking and feeling better on me.

That being said…I’ve also gained a new confidence that never existed before. I’m less afraid of trying new things that I previously would have been too shy to try out in fear of drawing attention to myself.

So, I decided to try out a pole dancing class!

The class was called Stiletto Sexy. And yes, you do wear stilettos and yes, you do look sexy.

In the class you not only learn how to pole dance, but you are also shown how to dance with a chair.

Chair Dance

If you think of the movie Striptease with Demi Moore, this is exactly what you would expect.

The unbuttoning of shirts, the removal of ties, and the body moves that would drive any grown man crazy! We learned how to walk, twirl around poles, and move as though we were the sexiest creatures in the world.

I failed to bring my “sexy stilettos”, so I was the lone gunman squeaking around in bare feet. Not nearly as glamourous, but definitely better than the clomping elephant that I would have been since I seldom EVER wear heels.

Walking badly in heels

Scroll above to see “Mom Uniform”.

Next we moved onto the poles.

Again, more sexy walking, but then we got to do some twirling.

I was pretty surprised that I was able to keep myself suspended as I spun around. It’s all in the technique.

Pole Dance

At the end of the evening, I definitely felt muscles that I hadn’t felt before. This certainly told me that this is a full body exercise and that if done regularly, one would definitely get pretty fit.

Since this fitness class is all about moving like a burlesque dancer, chances are your spouse would gladly pay for you to take it, providing you practiced A LOT at home.

Room to Move Dance and Fitness is a specialty fitness studio, offering pole dance, unique fitness classes and fun dance workouts for women. They specialize in pole fitness, (pole dance, or vertical fitness if you like), but also offer a wide range of other types of fitness & dance classes. 

Room2Move

Leave a Reply

