Releasing my inner rock star. #YMCCommunity

When I was in elementary school, I was part of the school band.

I joined in grade four, and my weapon of choice was the clarinet.

Clarinet

I thought that I was pretty good at it…in fact, I thought that I was the best clarinetist in the band.

When I hit grade seven, we were allowed to play the drums. There was just a base drum and a snare, but they were still the drums.

Everyone fought over the snare because it was more fun and trickier than the boring BOOM BOOM BOOM of the base drum.

I figured that I was pretty spectacular at the snare.

Once I hit high school, the clarinet went by the wayside. I signed up for art classes and my sister carried on the musical thread.

Flash forward twenty five years (yes, I’m dating myself) and there’s a little voice in my head saying to pick up the drum sticks again. I’ve even had dreams where I am part of a band and I’m fully rocking out with my hair flying around like a drumming maniac.

Sheila E

Sheila E

The chance of me picking up a drum set in the near future is slim to none. My neighbours probably wouldn’t appreciate the thunderous raucous coming from the other side of the walls and ceiling (aside from the already present disturbances caused by our 2 and almost 5 year olds).

So, I must wait…

Until we find a house. And even then, we’ll have to do some serious soundproofing in the garage…’cause I fully intend on having the kids pick up instruments as well.

Do you play or dream of playing an instrument?

One thought on “Releasing my inner rock star. #YMCCommunity

  1. i loved music and band until i was “too cool for band geeks”. I wish i had stuck it out. Music is on my list of what i will do when i finish this 14 year school program i have been in. I miss hobbies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

