Hot Dog Days…a thing of the past? #YMCCommunity

About a million years ago, when I was in Elementary School, we had this special day called “Hot Dog Day”.

Image credit: Kid vs. Kat

Image credit: Kid vs. Kat

On Hot Dog Day, every kid in the school received a hot dog (or two), a bag of chips, a carton of milk and a donut for dessert. We always looked forward to these special lunch days because having these things at home weren’t very common. Especially the donuts!

It probably cost our parents under $5 for us to enjoy Hot Dog Day and it also meant that our parents didn’t have to bother packing a lunch for us and more free time for them after bedtime or perhaps, a few extra “Z’s” in the morning.

Mom and Dad Time

Nutritional content wasn’t a concern for my Mum back then, but today, as a parent myself, I am more aware of what my kids eat.

We just received word of the first “Hot Lunch Day” at our daughter’s school this week. This is new to us as we have just entered the school system as a Kindergartner this year. I assume the name change is due to the variety of hot lunches that will be offered on these days.

That being said, I was disappointed to discover that for her first “Hot Lunch”, they will be serving food ordered from a local fast food restaurant.

Fast food

 

GROSS! Our kids don’t eat that junk!

If other parents allow their kids to eat this food, that is their prerogative. Now my child either has to eat this junk or not be included in this “special lunch day” with her classmates.

Are there really no healthy options available for “Hot Lunch Day”?

I guess it’s that little Jamie Oliver voice inside my head that gets me going. All the work that he has done to get more nutritional meals served in schools and to educate children and their parents about eating “good food”.

Jamie Oliver

How do we fix this? Is it the PAC Committee or the school district/ board who decides what foods are offered at schools, or is it higher up in the educational ministry? I’d certainly like to know, so that I can voice my concerns.

What are your feelings on fast food being offered on “Hot Lunch Days”?

2 thoughts on “Hot Dog Days…a thing of the past? #YMCCommunity

  1. I may be wrong, but I think it’s the individual schools program actually. I know my sisters kids get hot lunch and have a variety of things to choose from which definitely were healthier options than what your describing. That’s a tough situation! I don’t know what I would do either as I wouldn’t want to have my son singled out from the fun but would probably not be super pumped for mcdonalds either.
    Maybe ask your school who runs the program? Perhaps they need a new facilitator? 🙂

    Like

  2. I see hot lunch days as a treat. it is totally up to each family whether or not to participate, and at our school, lots don’t. But one option is to bfing forth suggestions of places you’d like to see included to your school’s hot lunch committee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

