My Quest for Happiness…Day 2 #100DaysOfGratitude #YMCCommunity

This morning our daughter’s Kindergarten class had their first session of ice skating…

While we were waiting for the rest of the group to arrive, little miss had a meltdown. She kept saying that she couldn’t skate and didn’t want to go. I got her into her snow gear and all laced up while she protested the entire time. We walked to the ice, she stepped on, and began to cry. Right away, her teacher saw that she was upset, so she came to her aid.

Superstar Teacher

We want our daughter to learn independence and gain confidence in her own abilities, so we encourage her to try things out on her own first. She had taken prior skating lessons, so she wasn’t a stranger to what was involved. Just like riding a bike, it eventually came back to her. Even a couple of boys from her class came to her rescue and showed her how to skate. Chivalry is still alive and well in our world.

Chivalry

The little dude started to get restless, so I sat him in his stroller. He wasn’t too thrilled about this new arrangement. After a few minutes of his meltdown, Ms. Superstar Kindy teacher, comes and suggests that perhaps I’d like to go on the ice with Captain Get-me-out-of-my-stroller. I inquire at the Skate Shop, and sure enough, we are allowed to go on the ice with the stroller. We just needed helmets and I required a pair of ice cleats.

To our daughter’s surprise, me and Stroller King step onto the ice and join the Ice Princess in a family skate. By now her confidence has increased, Mr. Dude is being entertained and we are having a great time.

Mom & Dude

When our session is over, we head out to the Skate Shop and gear down. Little Miss is now bummed that it’s time to go, but I reassure her that it won’t be the last time we go skating and congratulate her on overcoming her initial fear and for doing such a fantastic job.

So today’s gratitude is:

1) I am grateful for our daughter’s Kindergarten teacher.

*she showed compassion and helped encourage our daughter to trust her abilities in herself. She also, helped me be a part of our daughter’s learning experience by suggesting getting on the ice with the stroller and our son.

2) I am grateful for ice cleats.

*I am a horrible skater, so these fantastic articles of footwear kept me upright instead of being a flailing mess that I’m certain, twenty Kindergarteners would get a kick out of.

3) I am grateful for umbrella strollers.

*this allowed me and our son to enjoy a family moment with our daughter! instead of having to watch from the bleachers.

 

Leave a Reply

