What’s for dinner? Bacon Avocado Pasta

So, I’m still feeling like crap 😪

This head cold sucks and it’s tiring me out. Not that I’m not already bagged from the kids keeping me busy.

I needed to make a “Mom, I’m starving!”, “I have zero energy!”, yummy and super quick dinner, so that could make a hot cup of tea and put my feet up. Plus we had to run out the door to our daughter’s Sparks meeting after dinner. I didn’t want yo be late…again.

Here’s what I made:

Bacon Avocado Pasta
Courtesy of Damn Delicious

Ingredients:

12 ounces fusili pasta
4 slices bacon, diced
2 avocados, halved, seeded, peeled and diced
2 Roma tomatoes, diced
1/3 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup basil leaves, chiffonade
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice, or more, to taste
1 tablespoon lemon zest
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions:

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta according to package instructions; drain well.
Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add bacon and cook until brown and crispy, about 6-8 minutes. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate.
In a large bowl, combine pasta, bacon, avocado, tomatoes, onion and basil. Stir in Parmesan, olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, salt and pepper, to taste.
Serve hot or cold, garnished with Parmesan, if desired.

Bacon Avocado Pasta

I think I’d cut back on the onions next time. The kids aren’t fans and it leads to Dragon Breath. A definite no-no when you have to talk closely to people after dinner.

Leave a Reply

