Helping those who can’t help themselves. #MillionActsOfKindness #BCSPCA

Growing up, I had several pets…

Pets

Photo credit: The Island News

Dogs, cats, birds, chinchillas, rabbits.

Once, I adopted from the SPCA.

My Mom gave me some money for my 20th Birthday and I decided that I wanted a kitty. It was a pouring rainy day and I went down to my local SPCA shelter to see if they had any kittens available. When I entered the cat room, I was immediately drawn to one little lady who greeted me so enthusiastically. Her name was Sophie. She was a tortoiseshell with grey, white and peach fur. Her little tail was crooked at the end and she had a squeak of a meow.

I loved her and she loved me for 16 years. She was my little girl before I had my own little girl, and I miss her dearly.

Now that we are a family of four, hubby and I think it might be time for us to welcome a furry family member into our home.

We’ve discussed that when it’s time, we want to visit our local SPCA shelters to find the right pet for us. There are so many pets waiting in shelters looking for good homes, that we are adamant about getting one from there.

Not only do they have cats and dogs, but there are rodents like hamsters, ferrets and rabbits, that also need homes. But when you consider adopting a pet, keep in mind that they have needs to be met. Not only do they need feeding and activity, but in the case of rodents, their cages need to be kept clean as well.

A lot of people like to buy pets for their children as gifts for the holidays, like Birthdays, Christmas and Easter. And unfortunately, once these pets get bigger or the child tires of them, these little creatures get brought into shelters or let loose in local parks where they are unable to fend for themselves and usually die as a result. It’s a much better idea to really prepare your family to welcome a furry member by discussing what there needs will be.

Photo credit: The Inhabitots

Photo credit: The Inhabitots

This Easter, instead of getting your kiddos a bunny or chicks, stick to the stuffies, crafts, treats (if they’re allowed) or consider making a donation to the BCSPCA to help the shelter animals in need.

Please help the BCSPCA fulfill their #MillionActsOfKindness by donating, volunteering or adopting a pet!

Million Acts of Kindness

Leave a Reply

