Sometimes the grey clouds just have a way of sneaking in. #TheGoodMotherProject

Post partum depression and anxiety suck!

I know, because I suffered first hand.

Feeling blue

When our daughter was born six years ago, I thought that being a Mom was the best thing ever! A few days in, I was a total mess!

I was uber tired, exhausted, and I felt so overwhelmed.

Hubby did what he could to help, but I was the food source for our little lady and the frequent feedings certainly occupied a lot of our time.

I recall sitting on the couch all day with our new baby in my lap or on my boob, tears flowing freely down my cheeks. I felt alone and at a loss of how I should be spending time with this precious little being. I had no Mom friends to talk to and no family members that could help me. My husband was so worried about my mental health and tried so hard to help me get my head above water. I just could not shake the blues and worries away.

So tired

Finally we went in to the doctor for a chat. She referred me to B.C. Women’s Hospital where I was assessed and it was discovered that I was experiencing post partum anxiety. I then saw a therapist who taught me the tools to handle my anxieties. I had to force myself to do the “Mommy Firsts”. Bum changes, feedings, naps outside of the comfort of our home, were some of the firsts that I struggled with, but once I accomplished these simple tasks, the worries began to ease off.

I had heard of post partum depression, but when I was feeling my worst, I had no idea what to do. I went online to look for support and discovered the Pacific Post Partum Support Society, but was too afraid to contact them. I really wish that I had at the time…it probably would have shortened my suffering and made my life more bearable.

Post partum depression awareness has really come a long way and the support available is fantastic.

The Good Mother Project

The Good Mother Project, founded by Eran Sudds, is a network for mothers to support each other going through similar hardships.

On November 14th, The Good Mother Project will be holding a photo event as a way to raise money for the Pacific Post Partum Support Society.

Mothers and their children are invited to attend and have their photos taken while holding up signs that read “You are amazing” and “You are a good mother” as a way of sending positive and empowering messages to other participants as well as those viewing the images.

The Good Mother Project Photo Event will be held in Vancouver at the Scotiabank Dance Centre at 677 Davie St. from 2:30pm to 6:30pm. To register for your session, please click here. Tickets are $50 per session with FREE makeup touch-ups, coffee and snacks.

The Good Mother Project Photo Event

Leave a Reply

