Keeping active during the Winter and absorbing Nature’s beauty at the same time! #HealthyFamilyExpo

Recently, I was invited to take part in a night time snowshoe adventure, alongside of a group of fabulous bloggers, up at Cypress Mountain.

Photo credit: Angela Baxter Santoro

Photo credit: Angela Baxter Santoro

The lovely ladies that were a part of this tour, were the blog ambassadors for the Healthy Family Expo, happening Saturday, March 6th at the Vancouver Convention Centre. Mark that in your calendars!

Healthy Family Expo

I hadn’t been snowshoeing in about twenty years, so I was pretty excited to get out again. The snowshoes that I had originally used back in the day, were glorified milk crates (seriously), so putting on a pair of the more modern aluminum-style ones was quite the treat!

I had woken up that morning with a fantastic bought of the flu that my generous kids had passed onto me, but I wasn’t about to let that ruin the evening that I was so looking forward to. I pulled on my big girl panties, along with some thermal under gear, and headed up the mountain.

Trudging up the hill

Cypress Mountain itself, is such a beautiful location! Snow everywhere, and the evening sky was so clear, that we could see the stars. Being that clear also brings along cooler temperatures, so as our adventure progressed, the snow began to sparkle from the new ice crystals forming.

We were led on our tour by the fabulous and oh-so knowledgable, Kelvin. He was so informative about the wilderness around us that you’d think he was born and raised on the mountain! We couldn’t have asked for a better tour guide, as his amazing personality shone through with his huge smile.

Getting the low down

Cypress Mountain provided us with the snowshoes, snow booties (to protect your boots), headlamps (because we were trudging around in the dark), and two spectacular guides to lead us on our trek. We split into two groups on occasion. One went along the easier path, and the other veered off into the more adventurous route where we climbed hills and tested our cardio endurance. Guess which group I went with? I wasn’t gonna let my flu spoil my fun and allowing me to play like a kid again!

Photo credit: The Write Balance

Photo credit: The Write Balance

At the conclusion of our adventure, we were treated to some hot chocolate and cookies. Normally this tour includes a Cheese & Chocolate Fondue, but with the early snowfall this year, the construction of Hollyburn Lodge (where the fondue takes place) wasn’t completed in time. But regardless, it was still pretty awesome!

I highly recommend grabbing a group of friends, or just hubby, for an evening out or an afternoon activity to stay active and enjoy a Winter Wonderland up at Cypress Mountain before Spring arrives!

Cypress Mountain

 

Leave a Reply

