Why all my underwear are “Period Panties”. #YMCCommunity

Long long ago, when I was in my late teens, early 20’s…I actually owned bra and panty sets.


They were so pretty. They matched, or at least were co-ordinated.

I shopped at La Senza. Canada’s version of Victoria Secret, where you could get two bras for $40 and five pairs of panties for $20. I was also, still working full-time and childless, so OF COURSE I had nice underbits!

Flash forward 20{ahem} years later, and I have given birth to two kids, hung up donated all of my working duds, and long gone are the days of fancy panties and push-up bras. I should have kept those push-up bras though because my ladies have headed so far south that a push-up bra would definitely come in handy.

My “tighty whitey/ granny panties” are now the staple of my daily attire.

The unfortunate sneezes, line-ups for our one bathroom, exercises that I do regularly to get my body back from having kids and the new version of Aunt Flo that my body produces, have totally ruined the idea of wearing gorgeous lingerie for me. The special laundering required for lingerie does not work with my normal laundry schedule. The most I am capable of in my hectic schedule is separating the lights from the darks before tossing them in the washing machine. 

I do see a light at the end of the tunnel though.

When the kids are both in school full-time, I will more me time allowing my Mr. Hyde FrankenMom persona to stay home while I work on a more publicly accepted version of myself.

I’m excited…just need to find some fashion sense and a new hairdresser 😜

Leave a Reply

